Hey, Dad...
Stripes
25/03/2004

The last entry was much more important than this one.

I would like to say how my family is. Mom and Dad had a reality check when the cops came over.

Mom is more accepting of me now...but Dad. Heh.

I don't know if I still have a home. I'm not sure.

Things are complicated.

------------

"Perfect" ~Simple Plan

Hey dad look at me

Think back and talk to me

Did I grow up according to plan?

Do you think I'm wasting my time doing things I wanna do?

'Cuz it hurts when you disapprove all along

And now I try hard to make it

I just want to make you proud

I'm never gonna be good enough for you

I can't pretend that

I'm alright

And you can't change me

'Cuz we lost it all

Nothing lasts forever

I'm sorry

I can't be perfect

Now it's just too late and

We can't go back

I'm sorry

I can't be perfect

I try not to think

About the pain I feel inside

Did you know you used to be my hero?

All the days you spend with me

Now seem so far away

And it feels like you don't care anymore

And now I try hard to make it

I just want to make you proud

I'm never gonna be good enough for you

I can't stand another fight

And nothing's alright

'Cuz we lost it all

Nothing lasts forever

I'm sorry

I can't be perfect

Now it's just too late and

We can't go back

I'm sorry

I can't be perfect

Nothing's gonna change the things that you said

Nothing's gonna make this right again

Please don't turn your back

I can't believe it's hard

Just to talk to you

'Cuz you don't understand

'Cuz we lost it all

Nothing lasts forever

I'm sorry

I can't be perfect

Now it's just too late and

We can't go back

I'm sorry

I can't be perfect

'Cuz we lost it all

Nothing lasts forever

I'm sorry

I can't be perfect

Now it's just too late and

We can't go back

I'm sorry

I can't be perfect

-------------

Dad, I'm not giving up my best friend. You can learn to deal with it. Maybe he won't talk to you because you're being a jerk. Did you think of that? Did you think, hey, maybe if you don't call him at work or maybe if you don't get cocky with him, maybe he'd talk? Don't say you don't get cocky...I know you, Dad. I'm sorry he never went fishing with you...or hunting. I'm sorry you want to take him mushroom hunting now and he's gone. You know, he was MINE...my boyfriend, my best friend, not yours. Why don't you see that? I didn't have to have your approval. My love was enough. Now, if you want to really know him, maybe you should wait and be nice. Maybe you should get to know him for the right reason. But Dad, you're being a jerk. You're being so mean. I hate how you're treating me. I hate it. I hate it. I hate it. Now, please stop and if not for me, then for you grandbaby. Please, Dad. Give me a chance to really talk to you. Or give Josh a chance. Please. Don't be like this. I'm sorry I'm not perfect. I'm sorry I'm not what you want me to be. But I'm happy with who I am. I'm happy with what I've become. I'm not ashamed and I don't have regrets. You don't have to love me. You don't have to like me. You don't have to. But you should, because your my father. Don't you understand that?

previous ~ next