Times Like This
Stripes
11/04/2004

I wrote a poem. ANOTHER ONE? Yes. I'm on a poetry kick or something.

Times Like This
~Roni Myres

It�s times like this
that make me want to die,
the simple things that hurt me,
the memories that make me cry.
Thinking of you at Easter,
remembering being with you,
how you use to hold me,
how you loved me too.
It�s times like this
that make me cry,
they make me whither,
they make me die.
Thinking of QuinCon,
and the 4th of July,
of telling jokes,
of singing rhymes.
Thinking of gamer geeks,
Warhammer tournaments,
Magic decks�
Thinking of Ebenezer,
swimming,
or cuddling during the storm.
Thinking of going to church,
watching the cattle,
or us making love.
It�s thinking of the little things,
that hurts so much.
I love you,
I miss you,
Am I hurting enough?It�s thinking of the times we laughed,
or the times we cried.
Of your broken car window,
prom,
or staying out late at night.
It�s thinking of you saying �I love you�,
or �baby�
or �honey�.
It�s thinking of having classes with you,
programming,
or spending money.
It�s thinking of the movies we�ve seen,
the places we�ve ate,
the dreams we had.
It�s thinking of drinking at Neil�s,
teasing Travina,
making fun of Bill.
It�s playing Neopets,
rolling dice,
eating pizza,
or watching the sky.
It�s thinking of D&D,
rpgs,
or singing in the car.
It�s thinking of LOTR,
unicorns,
or playing in the snow.
It�s thinking of your old mule,
your broken car,
your necklace,
too.
It�s thinking of our memories,
my time with you.
It�s times like this,
I want to cry.
Nothing else matters,
except you and I.
It�s thinking of how you�re gone now,
how I�m pregnant with our child,
how you�ve moved on,
and how I can�t.
It�s thinking of how much you mean to me,
of our time well spent.
How much I want you back,
how much I want to hold you.
It�s times like this,
thinking like this,
please make the tears stop.
It�s times like this,
I need you most.
It�s times like this,
I hate you most.
It�s times like this,
I love you,
dear.
It�s times like this,
I want you near.
Please come back,
please give me a second chance.
I love you,
Josh.
Even in times like this�

previous ~ next