La Bamba
Stripes
03/02/2004

Have you ever had so much to say, but no words to say it? Yeah, today's one of those days.

So, instead...let's talk history.

We mean BIG History.

Ok...ok...you'll read this and be like "you're kidding, right?"

No, it's true:

Today in 1959, Buddy Holly, Ritchie Valens, and J.P. "The Big Bopper" Richardson were killed plane crashed in Iowa a few minutes after takeoff on a flight from Mason City to Moorehead, Minnesota.

Recognize those names? C'mon....you have to. I wasnt even born, but I know who they were.

Buddy Holly and his band, the Crickets, new song "That'll Be the Day" had just hit the number one spot when he died. But personally, when I hear the name "Buddy Holly", first I think "the CRICKETS!" then I think "Peggy Sue." Sure he sang other things, but this isnt his biography...this is the few things I know :P

J.P. "The Big Bopper" Richardson, I dont know much about him. I know he wrote "Chantilly Lace"

And now, the whole reason I mention this...for Ritchie Valens. You know, I almost always forget his name. Except on February 3rd...then it comes back to me. Anyway, he's the "La Bamba" guy!

Did you know the song "American Pie" was actually about the day these three guys died? Yeah, I remember reading that...somewhere...a few years ago.

La Bamba ~Ritchie Valens

Para bailar La Bamba,

Para bailar La Bamba, se necessita una poca de gracia

Una poca de gracia, para mi, para ti,

Ay arriba arriba

Ay arriba arriba, por ti sere, por ti sere, por ti sere.

Yo no soy marinero,

Yo no soy marinero, soy capitan

Soy capitan, soy capitan,

Bamba, Bamba, etc.

previous ~ next