Hit The Ground
Stripes
14/09/2002

I lied.
It�s as simple as that.
In all it�s complexity, in all that it is.
A lie,
A sin,
the start to our end.

You don�t know me.
You know nothing at all.
All the things you think you know,
they mean nothing.

No one knows me.
Not the real me.
I�m not as I seem.
I�m a deceiver,
I�m worse than a dream.
This is my reality.

You painted my image in your head.
You thought you saw my soul.
You know nothing about how I really feel.
You know nothing deeper than I want you to know.

You see, life isn�t as grand as I make it to be.
It�s not as bad either way.
It�s just I don�t handle things.
I don�t know anything.

It�s not that I wanted to lie.
I didn�t have a plot.
What started out so innocent,
quickly led to my downfall.

I didn�t lie about what you think I did.
If I said it was true, then it was.
However, it�s the image in your head that is a lie.

I am me.
You just never saw me for what I am.
You never knew me.

You thought I was so innocent.
You thought I was so pure.
You painted this great image.
You painted me as someone else.

I view life as a brick wall.
I am a wall.
In order to understand someone, you have to take down a brick to let them in.
I take the bricks down,
I take them,
I take more.
However, who else is taking down bricks?
Who�s letting me into their world?

Don�t for one minute think I�m selfish.
You may be right for once.
You see, I never use to be this way.
But then I got ran over.
You ran me down.
You trampled me.

It�s not that I wanted you to listen to me.
It�s not that I wanted you to care.
It�s not that I wanted it to be about me.
I just wanted to feel that someone,
anyone,
wanted to know me.

I wanted someone to care enough just to ask how I was.
I wanted someone to understand me.
I didn�t need to hear the answers.
I didn�t want you to say a thing.
I just wanted to feel someone listened.
I wanted to feel someone cared.

I felt like I kept giving,
I felt like no one wanted to give back.
I don�t want it.
I don�t want a thing.
I just wanted to feel someone would try.
I wanted to feel like someone would hear my cry.

It�s not that I�m greedy,
or selfish,
or so terrible.
It�s just for once I had felt someone cared.
Then, you slammed the door.

I�m so afraid of getting hurt.
I�m so afraid of giving in.
I don�t want a guy that hits.
I don�t want to keep hiding myself behind this wall.

I have to let myself out.
I can not be afraid.
The images you�ve painted,
burn them,
throw the ashes away.

You are going to see the real me.
The fakeness is all gone.
The lie that I�ve been living,
it�s completely gone.

I could have kept saying it was gone,
and kept living that way;
However, here I am world,
here I am.

Look at me,
Look at me now,
Here I am, my friend.

Please don�t build your wall back up.
Please let me into your world.
Don�t just let me into your life,
but take a step into mine.

Enter my life,
enter my world,
get to know me,
get to my soul.

I just wanted to feel someone cared.
I wanted someone to be there.
I wanted it so bad.
I wanted,
I wanted,
I wanted to feel you wanted to know me.

Get to know me,
Really know me,
Give me a chance,
See the real me.

The world doesn�t revolve around me,
it doesn�t revolve around you.
We aren�t in the center of it,
but it�s spinning with us too.

Don�t take me for granted,
I�ll try not to take you for granted too.
Just give me a chance,
know me like I feel I know you.

I�ll try not to overanalyze,
if you try to analyze me some.
Don�t just think you know me,
don�t assume you know me at all.
You were wrong,
so was I.
I let you think I was something I�m not.
For that I was fake,
for that I lied.
I�m sorry,
forgive me,
like I forgive you.
No one is perfect,
so why do you act like I have to be?

I never said I was perfect,
I never said I was the prettiest.
I never said I was flawless,
or innocent,
or pure.

You thought you knew me,
you judged too soon.
You never gave me a chance,
a chance like I gave to you.

Here is my plea now,
my conclusion to this mess,
forgive me for lying,
forgive me,
that is all that I ask.

Please just try to know me,
try to fully understand,
the image you had painted,

it wasn�t me,
it wasn�t anything.

How can you hate me for the image that you painted?
You hated me for something I did not do,
you hated me for not being like you wanted,
you hated me for an image I didn�t do.

You gave up on me too soon,
you let me down.

I love you my friend,
please stay around.

Are you there now?
Do you hear me?
Am I asking too much of you?
Are you ever going to see the real me?

Please,
Please,
Don�t give up now.

Here I am.
You can see me now.
I�m not hiding anymore.
My wall has hit the ground.

previous ~ next