Strawberry Wine
Stripes
28/08/2002

It's strange. It really is. It's like everything is new, everything is moving so fast and if I stop to breathe, the world will keep spinning without me.

I can't take a breath. I can't step back. To tell you the truth, I'm happy at last.

The world keeps spinning. Time continues to go. I'm stuck in this town, no where really to go. For once in my life, I think I've found me. I'm happier, more cheerful, and full of glee.

I use to hide in the back of the room. If the teacher called on me, I'd try to hide and I'd turn sooo red. It's not like that now. I'm not sure why. I raise my hand high. I volunteer to read first. I enjoy talking to the class. I enjoy being heard. When did this change? Isn't it good? All I know is, I don't feel so misunderstood.

Editor of the school paper will help me on this trail. More clubs, more activites, and most of all...more reasons to like me. I don't care if you hate me. I don't care if you despise me. For the first time I really don't care. I like me and that's all that matters.

You'd think with me being busier that I'd lose myself. You'd think I'd get lost. Somehow it wasn't like that. I'm sooo far from being lost. I feel like I know me. I like who I am. Things are going great. I don't worry when I fail.

Whoever you are who helped me with this change, thank you my friend, thanks. You know who you are more than I do. I may not even realize it's you. I want to say thanks. Really, I do.

Now that I've said that, my creativity is through. Ok, no it's not but here's a song for all of you.

~STRAWBERRY WINE~-Deana Carter

He was working through college on my grandpa's farm.
I was thirsting for knowledge and he had a car.
I was caught somewhere between a woman and a child.
When one restless summer we found love growing wild.
On the banks of the river on a well beaten path.
It's funny how those memories they last.
Like strawberry wine and seventeen.
The hot July moon saw everything.
My first taste of love oh bittersweet.
Green on the vine.
Like strawberry wine.

I still remember when thirty was old.
And my biggest fear was September when he had to go.
A few cards and letters and one long distance call.
We drifted away like the leaves in the fall.
But year after year I come back to this place.
Just to remember the taste.
Of strawberry wine and seventeen.
The hot July moon saw everything.
My first taste of love oh bittersweet.
Green on the vine.
Like strawberry wine.

The fields have grown over now.
Years since they've seen the plow.
There's nothing time hasn't touched.
Is it really him or the loss of my innocence.
I've been missing so much.
Like strawberry wine and seventeen.
The hot July moon saw everything.
My first taste of love oh bittersweet.
Green on the vine.
Like strawberry wine.

previous ~ next