I Need You To Care
Stripes
30/06/2002

I�m sorry Mom.

I�m sorry Dad.

There are some things I�d like you to understand.

It�s not my fault that I�m your kid,

I�m not to blame for things others did.

I�m not the reason things go bad,

I�m not the reason why you�re sad.

There are things you need to know:

It�s not my fault.

Stop blaming me.

I�m not the reason behind everything.

I�m sorry I�m your burden.

I�m sorry I�m your pain.

I�m sorry I�m not the child you wanted me to be.

I�m sorry I�m not perfect.

I�m sorry you�re ashamed.

I�m sorry you feel guilty.

And I�m sorry I feel this way.

You shouldn�t blame me all the time.

You should just leave me alone.

Everything is not my fault.

It�s not my fault that I�m not the child you wanted.

It�s not my fault that you�re the parents I got.

It�s not my fault that I�m not you.

It�s not my fault that I displease you.

Mom,

It�s not my fault that you and Dad argue.

It�s not my fault that I�m not exactly like you.

It�s not my fault I�m depressed a lot.

Did you ever think that it could have been because of something you did?

Or something you�ve said?

Or the way you treat me?

Or what all has been done?

Dad,

It�s not my fault I�m not a boy.

It�s not my fault I�m not the perfect fisher.

It�s not my fault I�m not a hunter.

It�s not my fault I�m not interested in the things you are.

Mom and Dad,

It�s not my fault that you don�t like my friends.

It�s not my fault you don�t know them.

It�s not my fault you never liked my ex's.

It�s not my fault you only liked Corey.

I�m not perfect.

I�m not the greatest person.

It�s not my fault the things that have happened.

It�s not my fault I was born with a congenital heart disease.

It�s not my fault you stopped getting my social security money because my disability improved.

It�s not my fault Mom used credit cards on stuff I don�t see.

It�s not my fault Cassie had to dress preppy.

It�s not my fault she wanted to look rich.

It�s not my fault she was so materialistic.

It�s not my fault you�re getting sued.

It�s not my fault Dad is mad at you.

It�s not my fault that I�ve had bad ex boyfriends.

It�s not my fault Elisha liked to abuse, and you know what, it�d be nice to hear that from you.

It�s not my fault that Corey and I are over.

It�s not my fault you liked him.

You can have him!

I don�t want him!

I don�t need him!

I need your support.

I need you to care.

I need you to love me.

I need you there!

I need you to hold me.

I need you to be proud.

I�m sick of never being good enough.

I�m sick of trying so hard.

I�d love to get an honest smile.

I�d love to make you feel proud.

I�d love to know that you were happy with my achievements.

I�d love to know you mention me even when you aren�t bragging or complaining.

I�d love to know you really care.

I�d love for you to support me.

I�d love for you to know me.

I�d love for you to know my dreams.

I want you to care.

And you know what? You ask why I don�t just tell you how I feel. Well think about all the times I�ve tried and all you did was yell and shut me down.

I�m sick of this.

I need to get out.

I need you to care.

previous ~ next