Grandma's Song
Stripes
23/06/2002

When I feel like I do right now, I start to sing to myself. Oftentimes, I sing the song I wrote (it has no name yet). However, I ALWAYS sing Grandma's song. MO (as I called her) had a song she would always sing. I have no idea the name of it, if she sang it wrong, or even if it has more words to it. This is the song:

I don�t want your greenback dollar,

I don�t want your watch and change,

All I want is you my darling,

So won�t please come back again.

Don�t that road look long and rocky?

Don�t that sea look wide indeed?

If you leave me to love another,

You�ll regret it all someday.

That seems way to short to be the entire song. That is all she'd sing of it. I don't really remember MO. She died when I was 7. I faintly remember her face and voice...but that song has stuck with me.

previous ~ next