A Single White Rose
Stripes
27/11/2005

A single white rose.

Ever since I was a little girl that is what I�ve wanted.

I remember my sister wanted a dozen red roses, diamonds, and more.

Or she wanted marriage, a baby, someone to adore her every word.

Cassie got those dozen roses�

After he had broken her heart.

The diamond was after the vow she didn�t want to take

And the more is beginning to show�

The marriage isn�t always happy�

The babies do not know it.

Does he adore her?

I don�t know.

But he�s too jealous.

He won�t even let her work for fear a man in the work place will steal her.

I just wanted a single white rose.

I remember my sister wanted someone just to love her.

She wanted her self esteem built, no abuse, and someone to be there.

She wanted supported, a family, but mostly love.

Becky had those things.

Her self esteem was built just so he could crush it down,

He wasn�t abusive until she married him

And now he�s rarely around.

She supports them all,

Her family is falling apart.

Her own kids tell her they don�t want her

Her step son is all mouth

The love she wanted comes from her cat.

I just wanted a single white rose.

I remember my Mom told of her dreams.

She wanted a man to love her, to get a degree, and to raise a family.

Her first husband crashed her dreams.

The second taught her fear.

My Father isn�t a nice man.

My Father says he loves her but only if you force him.

Degree? No but she�s almost got her GED finally.

Raise a family? Now that she has done.

Me, I just want a single white rose.

My Father wanted an insta-family.

He wanted a loving wife and kids and to support them.

He has the loving wife but he�s mentally abusing to her.

His kids he emotionally abused.

Support? The only support he�s gave was when he bought my Mother support panty hose.

But me,

I just want a single white rose.

I don�t want promises you don�t intend to keep.

I don�t want to force a man to ever marry me.

If I get married someday, great, it was a mutual decision.

Children? Maybe someday but I won�t base my dreams upon them.

I don�t want a dozen red roses,

They are so traditional and would just die.

I don�t want diamonds.

Diamonds are boring�if you must get me a jewel, make it unique like a black onyx.

I just want a single white rose.

I don�t want someone to adore my every word because sometimes my words are nothing.

He shouldn�t have to build my self esteem; I should be stable on my own.

Support? No, I can be independent.

I just want a single white rose.

Ever since I was a little girl�I�ve dreamed of a white rose.

I wanted a man that truly loved me and truly cared and that wanted to spend a long time with me to give it to me.

I wanted him to give me a single white rose.

He�d say to me �the white symbolizes my pure love for you�

He�d say �there�s only one, a single rose, because you�re the only one I want and one is all I need�

I just want a single white rose.

Maybe someday.

previous ~ next