Fancy Fraction Bars
Stripes
19/01/2005

So, my trig teacher pulled the same stuff today. You'd ask her a question and her answer was "you know this"....instead of actually helping us. But on the brighter note, apparently I'm learning it afterall because we did this little quiz type thing with example questions and I actually got them all right :) w00t.

On a down note, not only do I have 2 sections worth of trig homework due Monday...but we also have our first test. If I went by my notes, the only thing we learned was that "theta" can sound like "sex-ah" Heh, but at least the rest of the class is having as much difficulty as I am.

Algebra is harder than trig is right now. Damned radical expressions. And c'mon we spent the whole class hour going over only 6 examples. What the hell?

So I asked Dad to look over my algebra homework and he cracks me up. "When I was in school we just drew a line to mean fraction. Now you do fancy stuff" and I'm like "huh?" and he goes "you do. you drew this fraction sign with a curly-que." I'm like still not following so he points to it. And oh my gosh, my Dad thought the SQUARE ROOT SIGN was a FANCY FRACTION BAR! It cracked me up. And then he argued that cubed root is really a fraction with a curly-que that comes out and makes a 3-type swirl.

So I'm cracking up about this and I tell Mom. She says "don't ask me, I stopped helping you with math once you reached first grade."

....

I live in a family of people that do NOT know math if you paid them.

So as if going to college isn't enough at being a first for my family...doing math is apparently a first too.

Welp I gotta go do math....I finished algebra but gah, trig wants to have a kick ass fight with me. Let's hope I finish it by Friday so I don't have to do it on my birthday!

previous ~ next