High Class Society
Stripes
03/09/2006

James' family was in town last night. We all met up at his Aunt Karen's house and then went out for dinner to celebrate his grandparents' 57th anniversary.
They took us to an extremely fancy place. We're talking a place that has valet parking, reservations, and we won't even discuss the cost per plate.
I had to dress up to go...and I have to say, I was nervous. I had never been to a place where there's a new shiny utencil for EVERYTHING.
The appetizer of grilled portabello mushrooms was delightful. I swear they were so rich that you thought they were heaven sent. I didn't order the soup or salad but I did get to try it and the salads are the best in the world. My main meal was pan-seared sea scallops, coupled with a disc of potato fennel hash, a fris�e salad with Granny Smith apples and caviar butter sauce. The scallops just melted in your mouth. They were the largest, most delicious scallops that exist. I think I sold my soul for these things. The caviar was delicious. They added a splash of white wine to the sauce to make it even more heavenly. The entr�e of creamed spinach was even the greatest. I must say, this was the best meal ever. If it wasn't such an expensive place, I'd invite you all.
It's called Busch's Grove. They have this lovely little menu full of seafood, sushi, makimono rolls, steaks and chops.
James ordered the steamed Alaskan king crab. This sucker was huge, evil looking, and oh so good!
It was an interesting meal.
I guess I've finally seen more of the "higher class." I always wanted to go to a place where you had to dress up and that had the rep of about $100 a plate. I learned that there were plates and special forks that I didn't even know existed. I also was very happy to finally try caviar.
After dinner we all went back to Karen's for dessert. She had gotten strawberry short cake, cheesecake, chocolate cream cake, chocolate eclairs, and apple tart from the cheesecake factory. These desserts not only were beautiful but they would just melt in your mouth in ways that I didn't know possible. Mmmm.
Next time we go to his family gathering, I must drink a gin and tonic though. Apparently that's the main choice of the women in his family and I'm curious what one tastes like.
So you can mark meeting James' Aunt Karen, cousins Abbie and Chelsea, going to an extremely fancy restaurant, and trying caviar off my to-do list now :)

previous ~ next