2 Kittens for Roni
Stripes
05/05/2005

Remember how I was all upset that Kaylee had kittens but they were dead? And that I knew Amy was upset since I had promised her one?

Well a few weeks ago dad was like "ok, so she's dry but I totally heard a kitten cry in the old camper." Now this old camper is a pick up camper and I used it as a play house when I was little. Now though, it's nothing but a big pile of stuff from my childhood and stuffed full of Dad's junk. We're talking it stinks like a skunk sprayed in there and if you open the door, it's packed wall-to-wall and top-to-bottom. If you move one thing from the pile, the pile doesn't move is how full it is.

But, I see a kitten so I just HAVE to go in there. Dad says there's two and I see two. So the digging begins.

I dug...I climbed...I gagged...ALL MORNING LONG. Then I see something black in the one drawer I hadn't opened.

It's furry but there's no tail and it's ice cold. What is it? Is it a baby raccoon? I see it breathing. Finally, I get brave and just grab it. It's a kitten that was all curled up, trying to hide.

It is solid black and sooo furry that I thought it was literally just a ball of fur. She or He doesn't fight me much.

We put it in the cage and brought it in. It has teeth and has no idea how to drink even! Kaylee can't feed them, she's plumb dry.

I'm upset though... I can't find kitten number two.

THEN on the way to tropical sno...I see the second one. She or He had gotten out of the camper. Now, Kaylee led the kitten over to me, but I couldn't catch it.
No cat defeats me though...so I get the fishing net. Finally, I lure Kaylee to a spot where I can sit and wait on the kitten. I give Kaylee and Snickies some milk and I wait with my net.

The kitten ran out, but saw me...and hid.

Finally she/he runs out to nurse the dry Kaylee and I just net them both. I let Kaylee go of course....but the kitten, I put in the cage.

The second is black backed with a few random stripes on the back.. but has a striped face and is madder than a hornet right now about being in a cage.

Now you may be asking "why does she have kittens in a rabbit hutch?" Well it's simple, they are wilder than march hares. We have to do something or they'll never be tamed.
I swear, if looks could kill....the black kitten has murdered me. This entire time, it doesnt fight me...but it has it's ears back and gives me this glare. And the second one...man, I swear it's cussing at me in cat talk.

I'll take pictures when they calm down. Right now the black one likes to hang from the top of the cage...and the second one walks around all huffy trying to charge out of the cage.
The black one did sleep on my lap a little bit earlier...we'll see how they act later to more touching.

They are soooo cute though :)

previous ~ next