Let Me Exit
Stripes
22/09/2004

Every now and again as the sun starts to fall,

the night air begins to sweep through the sky,

but deep in my heart,

I begin to cry.

I think of those days,

earlier last monght.

So long ago,

yet if I close my eyes,

twas yesterday.

You flash through my mind and I let out a sigh.

I wonder if or what could have been.

What was it between us?

That mystical call,

that led me to trust you

or led to my fall.

I think of your smile

or your gentle laugh,

of calling me "girl",

of taking my hand.

I think of the party,

how you watched over me,

a gentle angel,

I wanted all the world to see.

I think of your hugs,

especially your kiss.

It was so perfect,

such an innocent bliss.

I think of you holding me

and of your warm arms,

how you held me so close,

yet took me so far.

I can't help but think

of those moments we shared

as you touched my lips,

I said a prayer.

For granted I took you,

Forever could I have had?

but too young,

too naive,

I watched as I lost all I had.

The moments didn't matter,

all happiness did fade,

you drifted away,

as I hid in shame.

I questioned myself.

I screamed,

I begged.

If only you had shot me,

then maybe I'd have had less pain.

But now you've reappeared,

like a thief in the night.

It's too much to handle,

yet it feels right.

I don't want to lose you,

a friendship means much

but I'm scared to draw you in,

I quiver at your touch.

You know I truly liked you

or maybe loved too soon,

but how much you hurt me,

words can never undo.

I don't want you to leave,

I don't want to not see you

but you can't feel this pain

nor would I wish it upon you.

I want you to be happy.

I want you to have love,

but by me you'll never feel it

By me,

there is none.

I hope I've never hurt you,

yet I hope you've felt some.

These words sting through me,

I think I'm going numb.

But you won't hear me cry,

as I slip into goodbye.

I'll simplly give a smile

and hold it all inside.

Giving up on it all,

it's not worth the fight.

Just tell me you're happy

and live a good life.

As the sun begins to wake

and a new day is born,

let me be a vacant memory,

your mind, no more, will I wander.

previous ~ next