Death Is Watching
Stripes
04/04/2004

Sitting quietly...

it waits for me.

It knows my story

it knows my heart.

It knows I'll soon crack.

It knows the truth.

Does it scare you to think that death is so near?

That it's watching you?

That it knows your fears?

Does it scare you to think my times getting close?

That this time next year, I will not be here?

Do you shudder with the thought?

Or simply give a sigh?

That's how Roni is...

she's darker than the night.

This depression is eatting at her...

it's tearing up her insides.

When did I get here?

Where did this road start?

Is there a detour?

Can I ever get off this path?

When will this self destruction ever end?

I hate you and you hate me...

oh my, gee...we must be family.

Marriage is superficial,

family is just blood,

the ties that I've lost,

oh, what has begun?

The love has lost,

let the pain begin,

there's nothing left,

somehow this story must end.

Friends lost,

people leave,

family betrayed,

what does that leave?

This world is cold, oh so dark

walking alone is the dangerous part

your own worst enemy is with you always

walking beside you

crawling within you.

Should my child know the pain of this world?

Should it know how cruel things are?

Where will it turn when it's mommy is gone?

Where will it go when it learns love is fake?

that there is only pain

that there are just mistakes

Where will it go when it's mommy is gone?

When it learns that tears dry?

that there is no hope

that there is only a constant climb to death

Where will it go when it's mommy is gone?

will it feel lost?

will it cry out?

Where will it go when it's mommy is gone?

another child lost

another mother gone

Where will it go?

Where do you go when there's no place left?

No where to run

No where to hide

the people you trusted are so far away

only pain follows

the numbness

the stinging

you dont know what you feel

am I dead or is this real?

"pleading and needing
and bleeding and breeding
and feeding exceeding
where is everybody?
trying and lying
defying denying
crying and dying
where is everybody?"

The song echos in your head

The lyrics burn deep to your soul.

You know how this story will end...

but the date is still untold.

The story plot thickens

the end draws near

this world of pain

is full of fears

Where do you now go?

There's no place to hide.

All you wanted is to find a place to die

You wanted a hiding spot

A place safe from it all

but it's too late now,

it's watching you.

This pain is too deep

time can't erase

love is a lie

marriage is fake

happy is short

sex is a dream

nothing is real

nothing is real

everything was perfect

everything was fake

everything is now blurry

everything is gone

nothing is real

nothing is real

who's left for you?

what's left to do?

your time draws close

it's watching you.

Don't think of me

don't let me cross your mind.

Kill the memories.

Let me say goodbye.

There's few places left to check,

there's no where to hide,

nothing is real

is this goodbye?

It's watching

It's waiting

It's drawing so near

Oh blade of despair, take away my fear

It's getting closer.

It's following me.

I'm it's new target.

It's eyes are on me.

Coming closer.

I trip as I run

It's so close now

am I done?

---------------

"Where Is Everybody?" ~Nine Inch Nails

did you happen to catch
or did it happen so fast
what you thought would always last
has passed you by
is everything speeding up
or am I slowing down
just spinning around
and I don't know why
all the pieces don't fit
thought I didn't give a shit
I never wanted to be like you
but for all I aspire
I am really a liar
and I'm running out of things I can do

I'd like to stay
but every day
everything pushes me further away
if you couls show
help me to know
how it's supposed to be
where did it go?

pleading and
needing and
bleeding and
breeding and
feeding
exceeding
where is everybody?
trying and lying
defying denying
crying and dying
where is everybody?

well okay, enough,
you've had your fun
but come on thare has to be someone
that hasn't yet become
so numb and succumb
and god damn I am so tired of pretending
of wishing I was ending
when all I'm really doing is trying to hide
and keep it inside
and fill it with lies
open my eyes?


pleading and needing
and bleeding and breeding
and feeding exceeding
where is everybody?
trying and lying
defying denying
crying and dying
where is everybody?

previous ~ next