Wake Up Call
Stripes
29/11/2002

You were in my dreams last night.

I cornered you and pleaded with you to let me talk for 5 minutes. You finally agreed when I insisted and started talking anyway. You didn't want anything to do with me. You pushed me away. I actually cried in front of you. That's something that isn't me.

I cried and you comforted. Oh, your voice was so sweet. You told me what had really happened. About my small defeat.

I'm sorry for what happened. I think of you from time to time. It's strange, as you said the "connection" that was "all in the mind". Like you said in the dream, "no fleshly thing meant more". The "inner connection" is gone, to return nevermore.

I thought about calling you today, but remembered I don't know the number. I'm sure I could find it, but what's the use?

If I emailed, you probably wouldn't get it or delete it just the same.

I want to know one thing though, when were you going to let me in? Into your world of play?

I was right. You seem like a mere illusion. You words now distant in my mind. It's funny how I knew you not long ago, yet centuries have flown by.

The sound of your name still makes me melt. It burns a hole in my heart.

I guess what bothers me the most is how easily I was deceived.

I trusted you, but you never trusted me.

I confined in you, but you lied to me.

You did what you said you'd never do.

You hurt me, in a way.

Funny how I've kept my word...yet the coward has ran away.

As I type these words, as I picture your voice...the voice I'm yet to hear....I think of my dream, my memories of you...and suddenly, you're even farther away.

I think I'm ready to let go now. I think I can say good-bye. I'd offer to shake your hand before I go, but the rules do not apply.

You shake hands for four reasons, none of which fit.

One, is if you're meeting someone you know a lot about...but you know nothing about me.

Two, is when you're sealing a deal...but we have no business to discuss.

Three, is for a sign of friendship, yet you can't be friends if you know nothing about each other.

And four, if you're meeting for the first time...but what's the point? when we will never talk again?

Call it a change of heart. Call it what you want...all I know is just now, the alarm is going off.

previous ~ next