Believe
Stripes
30/07/2002

Roni: Bertha? Bertha? I need you now.

Bertha: what is it? what�s up?

Roni: I�m sooooo scared about tomorrow.

Bertha: I know, I know

Roni: What am I going to do?

Bertha: If I knew, then I�d tell you.

Roni: I�m going to try to put my fear behind me for Samantha.

Bertha: That�s great, I knew you�d do the right thing.

Roni: yeah

Bertha: Have you told anyone about this besides

*I interrupt*

Roni: Don�t say his name.

Bertha: Ok, then�we�ll call him �mark�

Roni: why mark?

Bertha: why not?

Roni: dunno

Bertha: Have you told anyone besides �mark�?

Roni: like who?

Bertha: other friends

Roni: no

Bertha: well, what about your parents?

Roni: I tried

Bertha: tried? So did you or not?

Roni: Mom doesn�t care. She says it doesn�t matter how I feel that I�m going to go and tell all.

Bertha: What about your Dad?

Roni: he started to listen, but then started yelling because he decided he wanted to watch the news instead of help me.

Bertha: and you feel?

Roni: Like I�ve got a lump in my throat and I�m fighting tears.

Bertha: I know sweetie, let it out�.let it all out.

Roni: I can�t

Bertha: You can and You will, so why suffer? do it now

Roni: No, I want to go outside and catch butterflies�I want to forget it all. I want to think happy thoughts. I want fly away.

Bertha: Roni Ann!!!!! Stop it! Stop the act�LET IT OUT!

Roni: I can�t, I�m sorry

Bertha: I�m not giving up until you do�you MUST move past it, you must heal.

Roni: NO, I can�t face it�I can�t cope with it.

Bertha: You must or it will destroy you.

Roni: Maybe I want that

Bertha: no you don�t, when are you going to start being honest with yourself?

Roni: when I�m 80

Bertha: c�mon, tell me how you feel..tell me the truth

Roni: no

Bertha: YES

Roni: NO

Bertha: don�t be such a stubborn bitch, let it out!

Roni: I can�t

Bertha: you must

Roni: I�m too�.to�..

Bertha: too what?

Roni: scared

Bertha: I know, let it out

Roni: once I start, what if I can�t stop?

Bertha: then I�m here, I�m here

Roni: indeed you are

Bertha: Roni Ann??????

Roni: I hate him.

Bertha: who?

Roni: Elisha

Bertha: tell him

Roni: no

Bertha: if he died and you were letting it all out, what would you say?

Roni: oh no, don�t make me

Bertha: Do it

Roni: I hate him

Bertha: tell HIM

Roni: I hate you. I hate you Elisha. I try not to hate, but I really hate you.

Bertha: keep going

Roni: I want to know why. Why Me? Why did you fuckin� chose me? WHY? Did you have to fuck it up??? Did you? Wasn�t the abuse enough??? Aren�t these damn scars enough??? Guess not, no..you had to mentally scar me. You had to scar me in the worst possible way. I have so much trouble trusting guys now�my relationships sucked after that because I�m afraid to really try. Yes, I�m AFRAID!!! Happy now? happy you screwed with me? happy? huh? I don�t hear you??? Do you know much you did to me? Was it necessary to try to kill me? Did you have to do it? Did you have to always hide behind abuse? Did YOU? Did you have to embed this fear in me? Why? Fuck you�why me? WHY?

Bertha: you do realize you said fuck, right?

Roni: yes�now let me continue

Bertha: oh, ok

Roni: I hate you so much. I hate myself for hating. Hating is wrong. Guess what? I have to let this go, I have to move on. I can�t let you stop me Elisha. I can�t. Look at how much you�ve done. For crying out loud, I�m afraid to help my own niece because of your fuckin� ass! What if he gets pissed and comes after me like you did? What then? Why am I worried? YOU did this. You made me afraid. I�m afraid to help her because of a fear caused by You.. Damn you. Why did you have to do this to me? Why????

Bertha: Roni�

Roni: I went sooo long blaming myself. I didn�t make you do it. No matter what anyone smart ass says, it was YOUR decision. You did it. I have to face the fact that maybe, just maybe some people are truly evil. Maybe there really isn�t good in everyone. Maybe I�ve been thinking this for too long. Maybe I�ve lived a lie. NO, this is real. This is because of you. Just go away. Take all my fear with you. Jump off a cliff.

Bertha: Roni?

Bertha: Roni?

Roni: what?

Bertha: are you crying?

Roni: some

Bertha: need a hug?

Roni: yeah, just don�t know from who

Bertha: you did good Roni, you did good

Roni: I cussed

Bertha: you expressed your anger, that is when cussing is acceptable, this time anyway

Roni: am I bad?

Bertha: no

Roni: did I cause it? Was Elisha really to blame?

Bertha: you were innocent..he was a bastard

Roni: I�m not so afraid anymore

Bertha: good,..and you should release this more often

Roni: I�ll try, but that pretty well covered it

Bertha: Good luck tomorrow

Roni: thanks

Bertha: Remember�I�m there with you and I�m supporting you

Roni: I know

Bertha: I believe in you Roni

Roni: WHAT?

Bertha: I believe in you

Roni: all this time, you�ve believed in me?

Bertha: yes and it�s time you realized it�you believe in yourself

Roni: I do?

Bertha: I believe in you

Roni: I guess��I

Bertha: believe in yourself?

Roni: I believe�..oh my God�.

Bertha: Crying?

Roni: Like a baby

Bertha: say it

Roni: I believe in �

Bertha: c�mon Roni

Roni: I believe in myself, I really do

Bertha: crying harder?

Roni: yes

Bertha: good, and never forget I believe in you

Roni: I wont

Roni: I BELIEVE IN MYSELF My self war is over. I think I can move on. Thank you.

Bertha: it was in you all along�

Roni: yeah, guess you were

Bertha: yeah, use my side more often, quit drowning me out with fake perkiness

Roni: ok, deal

previous ~ next