Dancing Queen
Stripes
17/07/2002

I went shoe shopping earlier with Cassie. I didn't buy any shoes. I just bought some imported ones the other day. I did buy a c.d.; it was Incubus�s �S.C.I.E.N.C.E". Ok, I'll get to the point. I was leaving the store when I saw Jake. He was humming "Monkeys on Typewriters". It's a song that the Rochester Chemists sing. I had to join in. There we are humming the song and this old man stops and stands in front of us and looks at us like we are nuts. I stopped humming and said "Hi, can I help you? Do you like the humming?" He said "yes I do sweetie, what is that?" Besides the fact that he called me sweetie and I was kind of grossed out at the mere thought of being his sweetie, I was overjoyed about the opportunity he just handed me. I gave my cutest smile and started giving him a little speech. It went like this: "Well sir, we were humming a song by the Rochester Chemists. The song is called 'Monkeys on Typewriters', it's a great song. You should check it out on mp3.com. Anyway, the Rochester Chemists are great. They are from Canada and are a little-known group. You'd probably call them a garage band. You know what I mean. You should definitely check into them. Here, I'll give you the website address." I took out my pretty pink pen and a piece of memo paper and wrote it down. I gave it to him and smiled. He then said "I will check them out sweetie, bye little dancing queen." He left. Jake just laughed about me being called a 'dancing queen' while I tried not to gag from him calling me 'sweetie'. Something about old guys calling me 'sweetie' really makes me feel sick. Jake and I left. I was on my way home recapping what I had said. I kept telling myself that I should have been more persuasive. I must be loosing me touch. I hope he does check them out. That would be cool. As I thought about this, I remembered Jake laughing at him calling me a 'dancing queen'. Then this horrible thing happened. I realized hey, I know that song. I started singing "dancing queen". It's still stuck in my head. Why couldn't I? haha. I mean I can 'dance', I can 'jive'......lol. Well anyway, here...maybe you can be the dancing queen:

Artist: A*teens

Album: Abba generation

Title: Dancing Queen

You can dance; you can jive, having the time of your life

See that girl, watch that scene, dig in the Dancing Queen

Friday night and the lights are low

Looking out for the place to go

Where they play the right music, getting in the swing

You come in to look for a king

Anybody could be that guy

Night is young and the music's high

With a bit of rock music, everything is fine

You're in the mood for a dance

And when you get the chance...

You are the Dancing Queen, young and sweet, only seventeen

Dancing Queen, feel the beat from the tambourine

You can dance; you can jive, having the time of your life

See that girl, watch that scene, dig in the Dancing Queen

You're a teaser, you turn 'em on

Leave them burning and then you're gone

Looking out for another, anyone will do

You're in the mood for a dance

And when you get the chance...

You are the Dancing Queen, young and sweet, only seventeen

Dancing Queen, feel the beat from the tambourine

You can dance; you can jive, having the time of your life

See that girl, watch that scene, dig in the Dancing Queen

(fade)

THE END. Anyway, have fun singing that. Keep listening to the Rochester Chemists. Who knows...try humming their songs. Maybe you can be called a 'dancing queen' by an old man too. :P

previous ~ next