Sampson and Delilah
Stripes
28/07/2006

So I had a horrific morning. I was cooking breakfast for the kids when Samantha wasnt listening and almost burned herself. Well, I moved her out of the way...but by doing so, I bumped the skillet and boiling hot grease poured all over my foot.
Now most people would complain here and then stop but it gets worse...
Apparently the kid thought she was helping and the burner was turned up when I wasnt looking...and black smoke was now starting to roll into the kitchen. I thought "crap, Dad's in the living room and helping Robbie with math...if I take time to cool off my foot, this smoke will accumulate and I'll get in serious crap." So I'm buzzing around trying to fan the smoke out of the kitchen (after having of course turned the burner down). In the meantime, Robbie yells and I go to check him and Samantha adds a bunch of stuff to the skillet, splashing grease over the place and making the fire go up. So the kitchen is covered in black smoke, my foot is on fire, and Dad is now coughing and choking.
Needless to say by the time I actually got Dad to stop yelling long enough and stop bossing me...it had been quite a while before I could clean up my foot and I'm wondering how long this big nasty burn is going to be here :(


But in an interesting note:
I hate people that are heartless and drop animals off just anywhere.
Someone dropped a black kitten off at Becky's. Her husband, of course, says they can't keep it so she brings him to me.
Full of worms and starving, the little guy made my heart melt.

I brought him in the house and I was thinking "He's not too terribly much smaller than the others...maybe I can trick the parents into thinking he's Delilah until I get him healthy enough to give away"

Well the squirt jumps on Dad and of course...the first thing he notices is "Delilah...when did you get nuts?"
So I had to tell him the truth.
Strangely enough, the kitten won Dad over.

So now...Willow, Delilah and Isis have an adopted little brother. He's dewormed now and sleeping with a full belly.
We named him Sampson.
Yes, we now have a "Sampson and Delilah"...the irony of how he looked like Delilah was too cute to pass up the chance at the name :P

previous ~ next