Blank
Stripes
15/11/2002

Blank.

That is how I feel.
I feel blank.
I'm full of emotion, yet empty.
I have so much to express, yet no desire.
This is a new feeling and I know not what to perceive of it.
Thoughts flood my mind, yet I cannot think.
Maybe I'm burning out.
Maybe I take on too much.
Maybe I'm just blank.

Words.

My words have more meaning.
Lately they've went a long way.
More people are listening to me.
More people hear what I say.

Blank.

Words that I say are blank.
How can they stir such emotion when there's nothing left to say?
How can people hear me but not comprehend?
My words, they are nothing.
Blank are my words.

Stress.

There's enough going on that it's almost impossible not to be stressed.
Yet, I do not care.
The stressors in my life mean nothing.
They aren't really there.

Blank.

My emotions have run cold.
My feelings are not there.
No stress,
No joy,
No tenderness.
Blank is all that's there.

Smile.

A smile use to provoke a meaning.
To smile is to care.
I care about the nothingness.
My smile is not there.

Blank.

It's how you think you understand yet you do not comprehend.
The blankness that's inside of me is about to end.

Hold.

I can't hold it in much longer.
This blankness has to leave.
There's nothing to hold onto.
There's nothing in which to cling.

Blank.

The way I feel when he talks to me.
The way he smiles at me.
The way I feel when I think of him.
Oh, I want to hold his hand.

Warmth.

What's this now?
What is it I feel?
How can I feel warmth inside if there is nothing there?

Blank.

This blankness that's within me, it is filling up.
A cooling warmth,
A warming cool
there's not much blankness left.

Glee.

I think of how he talks to me,
my heart,
it fills with glee.
For all along he's been right here.
No blankness could there be.

Blank.

Then I think of what he thinks of me.
Is it blank indeed?

Killing.

My blankness is dying.
Yet his blankness would kill me.

Blank.

There was no blankness here at all.
It's my emotions, can't you see?
How could I feel blank inside
when...
Oh, he talked to me.

previous ~ next