X is for Xerox...
Stripes
22/01/2003

There's a poster in my computer business application's class that has the alphabet. For each letter, it gives words of advice. Everyday before it's time to leave Sidney, Ryan, Raymond and I gather around near it. We always joke and change the wording of the poster.

For example, for "Never cheat, lie, or steal; always obey the rules", Sidney would rephrase it as "Always cheat, lie, and steal; never obey the rules. "

Yeah, you get the point.

Anyway, for the letter "D", it says "Don't jump into things." Yet, for the letter "J", it says "Just do it."

My question is...which is it? Do I not jump into things or do I just do it?

If that is the case, what are these "things" in which it speaks? When do these particular words of wisdom abide? When do I know which is right?

I mean, with drugs...it's obvious it means "don't jump into it". Yet, what if I failed to read the letter "D" and based my life on the letter "J"? Would I "just do it"?

If this theory applies...what about sex?

I think I've proven a point. But, what IS my point? Why exactly am I wasting my time writing all this down?

*shrug*

I couldn't tell ya.

HOWEVER, I've decided to write my own "words of wisdom". I shall call it "Roni's Codes of Life" or maybe "Roni's Alphabet of Advice". Or bluntly speaking...I should call it "Hey You! Read and Take To Heart The Following Advice!":

Always face up to your actions and take responsibility.

Be brave and don't let fear imprison your mind.

Call on a friend when you need advice; don't be afraid to seek help.

Don't just act upon everything; Think it through first.

Ease up; learn to enjoy life.

Forgive others; Holding a grudge makes things worse.

Get a hobby or at least find something you enjoy to do in your "me" time.

Have hope; when things go wrong, have hope and realize that bad things WILL occasionally happen.

Inane ideas should still be expressed; your ideas are always important no matter how silly they seem; express your feelings.

Joke around once in a while; jokes make friends and help cheer you up.

Kiss the person you love for you never know when it'll be your last goodbye.

Listen and give advice to others; Most of all, listen to yourself.

Make time for yourself daily; "me" time will prevent burn out.

Never forget that the world does NOT revolve around only YOU; others have feelings too.

Obey rules/laws; they're there for a reason; besides, if things go wrong you were just taking orders and are not to blame that way.

Practice really does make perfect, so hold your head up and push for your goals no matter how much you have to practice, practice, practice.

Quick glances say a LOT. Letting someone know you acknowledge their presence really means a bunch.

Remember your morals and stick with them.

Smile; a smile says a million words; or at least, it's a simple way to express those hard to say words.

Tell the truth; even if it's hard, in the end you're better off being honest from the start.

Utilize your skills and talents; don't let them waste away.

Victories should be shared; let someone else know when you're proud of them or yourself, just don't over do it.

Watch the world around you; be aware of what is going on so you're not left in the dark.

Xerox your work so you can reflect back on your progress and see where you need to improve. (* Yes, I'm aware this is an easy "X" word, but trust me, when it comes down to it, you'll thank me someday. ESPECIALLY when you have your work saved on your computer and it goes out...you'll wish you had a hard, Xeroxed copy of it ;) *)

Yell if you need to, but don't yell at others; wait until you're alone to let off steam because taking it out on others makes it worse.

Zesty does not JUST apply to food from Taco Bell; it should also apply to your personality; Be your own person; Be full of zest; it keeps things interesting.

There you have it...my "words of wisdom". What cha think? Tell me your thoughts. hehe. Yeah, maybe not. *shrug*

There's no school the next 2 days because of the flu. Hahahahaha. Sorry, I just had to laugh. Wonder how many kids are REALLY sick...hmmm...*thinks about how I skipped school yesterday*...hmmm

hehe. Well, I'm off to go make some SERIOUS college decisions. I'm soooo confused! Wow! Be looking for an entry about that soon!

previous ~ next